Thoughts and Impressions on Rumi’s Poetry

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

The book between my hands is The Masnavi Book 2 by Jalal al-Din Rumi ; translated with an introduction and notes by Jawid Mojaddedi.

I did not feel anything towards the poems. I blame this on the translation. The verses were forcefully made to rhyme. The language was made too simple. Poetry simply can’t be translated in my opinion.

This attitude of mine however does not hold for the Rumi Quotes I see on Instagram. So then again maybe it’s not the translation’s fault but simply, only a very few verses in the poem actually click.

I also blame my understanding. I know if I read some explanations of the poems, I will appreciate them more. I plan, if God wills, to retry reading Rumi’s poems along with their interpretations.

So my current impression on Rumi: underrated by the translations, overrated by the selectivity of what is displayed.

